The Liverpool City Region announces members of Music Board

A panel of experts and influential figures from the world of music will be revealed today at the formal launch of the new Liverpool City Region Music Board.

The Music Board, made up of 18 members and seven observers, is charged with cementing the city region’s position as one of the world’s music capitals and will work to ensure music businesses and communities have a stronger voice in local and regional decision-making.

Board members will be tasked with five key priorities, identified through the recent Developing a Liverpool City of Music Strategy report, which aims to sustain, support and develop the music sector in our region:

The priorities are:

  • Safeguarding and protecting music venues

  • Growing current and future music heritage

  • Developing the Beatles’ legacy

  • Increasing access to music education

  • Engaging and developing new talent

The Music Board will work closely with all our local authorities and will look to build on the success of Liverpool’s status as UNESCO City of Music.

Speaking ahead of the launch, Steve Rotheram, Metro Mayor of the Liverpool City Region, said:

“Music is in our DNA and our city region’s musical reputation is known across the world. I’m looking forward to seeing the work of the new board as they work to ensure that we have the right environment to encourage new talent and build on that reputation in the future.”

Joe Anderson OBE, Mayor of Liverpool, added:

“This is a region that stands out in the UK when it comes to music. This board will bring together music sector aficionados to see how we can all work together to celebrate our enviable legacy, and at the same time enhance the industry, develop a clear understanding of what changes need to be made and introduce new ways of thinking.”

The members of the Liverpool City Region Music Board are:

  • Michael Eakin – CEO Royal Liverpool Philhamonic

  • Chris Meehan – CEO Sentric Music/Director Boss Group Ltd

  • Rebecca Ayres – Managing Director Liverpool Sound City

  • Ian Thomas – Chair of LCR Music Education Alliance

  • Steve Levine – Independent Music Producer

  • Craig Pennington – Editor Bido Lito

  • Matthew Flynn – Lecturer University of Liverpool (Music Industries)

  • Paul Gallagher – Deputy Director Museum of Liverpool, NML

  • Ben Williams – Commercial Director ACC Liverpool

  • Andy McCluskey – Lead Singer Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark

  • Cath Hurley – Director/Artist Manager mostdeffo

  • Hannah McKearnen – Independent Accessibility and Inclusion Advocate

  • Yaw Owusu – Executive Manager THE PLAYMAKER GROUP

  • Catherine Tackley – Head of Music University of Liverpool

  • Alok Nayak – Artistic Director MILAPFEST

  • Barbara Phillips – Artist Manager Positive Impact

  • Anne Thwaite – Artistic Director Arabic Arts Festival

  • Jennifer John – Creative Director, Music Manager – Sense of Sound Singers

Liverpool Music Board Observer Roles:

  • Michael Dugher or Tom Kiehl – Representative from UK Music

  • Mayor Joe Anderson – Portfolio Holder for Culture, Tourism & Visitor Economy

  • Cllr Shelley Powell – CA Deputy Portfolio holder for Culture, Tourism and the Visitor Economy

  • Kevin McManus – Head of Liverpool UNESCO City of Music

  • Pete Hooton – Chair Beatles Legacy Group

  • Sarah Lovell Lead Officer Culture – LCR Combined Authority

  • Kelly Wood – Musicians Union representative

  • Lord Dave Watts – Former MP and leader St Helens

Share this article

Similar Articles